The San Francisco Bay Ferry and the Hours of Departure

Résultat de recherche d'images pour "san francisco"The passenger ferry service of San Francisco is called the San Francisco Bay Ferry. It is administered by the San Francisco Bay Area Water Emergency Transportation Authority or WETA, a government entity created in 2007 by the legislature of the California State. San Francisco Bay Ferry and the Golden Gate Ferry are not affiliated, the last one is providing ferry services for Marin County. The ferry service from Alameda and Oakland was taken over by WETA.


The ferry lines operated initially under the names of Alameda Harbour Bay Ferry and the Alameda / Oakland Ferry. In June 2012 began the service for the South San Francisco city and that is also the time when it received the new name, San Francisco Bay Ferry. The ferry service from Oakland informally started on the day when the Bay Bridge was closed because of the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake. The Vallejo to San Francisco route dates from 1986.


The San Francisco Ferry Schedule

There are four terminals from where the ferries depart and where they return every time:

  • Clay Street Terminal on the 530 Water Street in Jack London Square, Oakland
  • Gateway Center on the 2991 Main Street in Alameda
  • Pier 41 on the Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco
  • Ferry Building in San Francisco


The hours of departure from each terminal are different for each destination. The San Francisco Ferry Schedule is calculated based on the rush-hour need for transportation and the number of people that usually use the ferry as a mode of transportation. The ferry schedule can be modified because of the weather or mechanical problems. During the holidays, the ferries do not usually run. The transit time varies for every route you choose. Reservations can be made only for AT&T Park Service users.